Christian Eriksen was selected as one of the 21 players in Denmark’s FIFA World Cup squad



Manchester United midfielder Christian Eriksen, who suffered a cardiac arrest during Euro 2020, was one of 21 players selected by Kasper Hjulmand on Monday in Denmark. Globalism Trophy team, with the coach set to name the remaining five players in the coming days.

The full list must be submitted next Monday at the latest, the day before the team leaves for Qatar. “There are 10 to 12 players fighting for the bottom spots,” Hjulmand said.

Also read: Sepp Blatter says FIFA grants The World Cup in Qatar was a ‘mistake’

“A lot can happen. It’s uncertain, but it’s the right way to go. There are two games left for a lot of players, and things could change.”

Eriksen has spent eight months out of the game after collapsing in Denmark’s opening European Championship match against Finland in Copenhagen on June 12 last year.

He had to be resuscitated on the field, lying unconscious for several minutes while the stunned crowd and millions of television viewers around the world watched in horror.

Eriksen spent several days in the hospital and had an implantable defibrillator to regulate his heartbeat.

Eriksen terminated his contract with Inter Milan by mutual consent last December, as the Italian league bans players from using defibrillators.

He moved to Brentford earlier this year because the Premier League has no such rules regarding defibrillators.

He then scored on his international return against the Netherlands in March and signed a three-year contract with Manchester United in July.

The list includes regulars such as captain Simon Kjaer, although there is no place yet for Leicester defender Yannick Westergaard and Leipzig striker Jusuf Poulsen.

In Group D, Denmark begins its World Cup campaign on November 22 against Tunisia, before meeting France, the defending champion, and Australia.

Tenth in the FIFA world rankings, Denmark has been among the countries most criticized for hosting the World Cup in Qatar.

Denmark preliminary squad:

Goalkeepers: Kasper Schmeichel (Nice/France), Oliver Christensen (Hertha Berlin/Germany).

Defenders: Daniel Wass (Brøndby), Rasmus Nissen Christensen (Leeds United / England), Jens Stryger Larsen (Trabzonspor / Turin), Joachim Mahle (Atalanta / Italy), Andreas Christensen (Barcelona / Spain), Simon Kjaer (Milan / Eta ). ), Joachim Andersen (Crystal Palace / England), Victor Nelson (Galatasaray / Tours)

Midfielders: Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg (Tottenham/England), Thomas Delaney (Sevilla/Spain), Christian Eriksen (Manchester United/England), Matthias Jensen (Brentford/England)

Forwards: Mikkel Damsgaard (Brentford / England), Andreas Skov Olsen (Club Brugge / Belgium), Jesper Lindstrom (Eintracht Frankfurt / Germany), Martin Braithwaite (Espanyol / Spain), Kasper Dolberg (Sevilla / Spain), Jonas Wind (Wolfsburg / Geer), Andreas Cornelius (Copenhagen)

Read all files The latest sports news over here


Source link