Indian rower Sharath Kamal has become the first Indian to be elected to the ITTF Athletes’ Committee



Indian rowing star Achanta Sharath Kamal has become the first player from the country to be elected to the International Table Tennis Federation (ITTF) Athletes Committee.

Eight athletes (four men and the same number of women) have been elected from Asia, Africa, the Americas, Europe and Oceania and will serve on the Athletes’ Committee for a four-year term from 2022 to 2026.

Read also: Rafael Nadal is determined to get back to his best

paddle ace of India They got 187 votes, the second highest number, after Romania’s Elisabetta Samara, who got 212 votes, just 8.83 percent more than the votes polled from their continent – Asia and Europe – respectively.

Speaking of international honours, Sharath, a multiple Commonwealth Games medalist, was humbled and delighted to know that he received the most votes from Asia, ahead of other nominees from the continent.

Liu Xiwen, elected from the women’s quota, is another Asian on the committee, but the Chinese got only 153 votes.

“I am flattered and humbled by the acknowledgment. I thank all Asia and all constituents for this admiration of faith and the CoA (Administrators Committee) for sending my name to the ITTF,” Sharath said in a statement issued by the Table Tennis Federation of India (TTFI).

On the November 7-13 ballot, 283 athletes voted to elect eight candidates from different regions, indicating an increase of 18 percent, compared to 240 in 2018, and the commission’s growing popularity and importance.

Read also: Ronaldo risks united legacy after explosive interview

Along with the eight athletes, two para-athletes will serve four-year terms.

Sharath will be honored with the Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award, the country’s highest sporting honour, later this month.

The 40-year-old is also the Vice-Chairman of the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) Athletes Committee. He is one of the 10 high-profile athletes elected two days ago to the National Olympic Committee that will go to the polls next month.

Elected Athletes: Elisabetta Samara (Russia), Ashanta Sharath Kamal (India), Daniele Rios (Pour), Omar El Assar (Egypt), Melissa Tapper (Australia), Stefan Wegerl (Australia), John Pearson (Sweden), and Liu Xiwen (Switzerland) ) CHN).

Elected Paralympic Athletes: Angela Lundbäck (Sweden) and Kelly Van Zone (Ned).

Read all files The latest sports news over here


Source link