List of Golden Ball, Golden Boot and Golden Glove winners



A large number of soccer stars will be on display when FIFA 2022 kicks off Globalism The cup finally starts on Sunday. The skies of Qatar will be lit up with fireworks of mercurial talents like Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Neymar, Kylian Mbappe, Harry Kane and more who will compete to take back football’s biggest title to their homeland.

Read also | Analysis and expectations of Group C for the 2022 World Cup: Argentina, but do not underestimate Saudi Arabia, Mexico and Poland

Although soccer is a team sport, individual brilliance has often taken the spotlight at World Cup finals. From Diego Maradona’s brilliant run at the 1986 World Cup to Messi’s guiding Argentina to the final in 2014, great players often decide the fate of their team almost single-handedly.

The Golden Ball, Golden Boot, and Golden Gloves are the three individual awards presented at the World Cup. The tournament’s best player gets the Golden Ball award, while the top scorer gets the Golden Boot award. The tournament’s best goalkeeper is awarded the Golden Glove.

Over the years many great players have been awarded the three honours. As we approach the FIFA World Cup finals, let’s take a look at the winners from previous editions:

The golden ball

1930 – Jose Nasazzi (Uruguay).

1934 – Giuseppe Meazza (Italy)

1938 – Leonidas da Silva (Brazil)

1950 Zizinho (Brazil).

1954 Ferenc Puskas (Hungary)

1958 Didi (Brazil)

1962 Garrincha (Brazil).

1966 Bobby Charlton (England).

1970 Pele (Brazil).

1974 Johan Cruyff (Netherlands).

1982 Paolo Rossi (Italy).

1986 Diego Maradona (Argentina).

1990 – Salvatore Schillaci (Italy).

1994 – Romario (Brazil)

1998 Ronaldo (Brazil).

2002 Oliver Kahn (Germany).

2006 Zinedine Zidane (France).

2010 Diego Forlan (Uruguay).

2014 Lionel Messi (Argentina).

2018 Luka Modric (Croatia).

Golden Boot winners

1930 – Guillermo Stabile (Argentina).

1934 – Oldrich Nejedli (Czech Republic)

1938 Leonidas (Brazil)

1950 Ademir (Brazil).

1954 Sandor Kocsis (Hungary).

1958 Just Fontaine (France).

1962 – Florian Albert (Hungary), Valentin Ivanov (USSR), Garrincha (Brazil), Vava (Brazil), Drazan Jerković (Yugoslavia), Lionel Sanchez (Chile)

1966 Eusebio (Portugal).

1970 Gerd Müller (Germany).

1974 Grzygorz Lato (Poland).

1978 Mario Kempes (Argentina).

1982 Paolo Rossi (Italy).

1986 Gary Lineker (England).

1990 – Salvatore Schillaci (Italy).

1994 Oleg Salenko (Russia) Hristo Stoichkov (Bulgaria)

1998 Davor Suker (Croatia)

2002 Ronaldo (Brazil).

2006 Miroslav Klose (Germany).

2010 Thomas Müller (Germany).

2014 – James Rodriguez (Colombia)

2018 Harry Kane (England)

Gold award winners

1930 – Enrique Ballestrero (Uruguay).

1934 Ricardo Zamora (Spain).

1938 Frantisek Planica (Czechoslovakia)

1950 – Roque Maspoli (Uruguay).

1954 Gyula Groskes (Hungary)

1958 Harry Gregg (Northern Ireland)

1962 – William Schrojeff (Czechoslovakia).

1966 Gordon Banks (England).

1970 Ladislao Mazurkiewicz (Uruguay).

1974 Sepp Maier (West Germany).

1978 Ubaldo Fillol (Argentina).

1982 Dino Zoff (Italy).

1986 Jean-Marie Pfaff (Belgium).

1990 Luis Gabrielo Conejo (Costa Rica) Sergio Goycochea (Argentina)

1994 Michel Briodome (Belgium)

1998 Fabienne Barthez (France).

2002 Oliver Kahn (Germany).

2006 Gianluigi Buffon (Italy).

2010 Iker Casillas (Spain).

2014 Manuel Neuer (Germany).

2018 Thibaut Courtois (Belgium)

Read all files The latest sports news over here


Source link