Rahani and Kotian help Mumbai conquer Bengal; Gaikwad, Tripathi Maharashtra guide to victory

hvac by fully4world


Tanush Kotian earned his career best 4 for 31 with his irregular spin as Mumbai’s bowlers blew up the Bengali batting line-up before winning eight wickets in the Vijay Hazari Cup One-Day Group E match here on Saturday.

Fresh from his exploits in Syed Mushtaq’s victory over the T20 in Mumbai, Kotian got into action after his teammates Tushar Deshande (2/23) and Mohit Avasthi (1/29) delivered Bengals early strikes.

T20 World Cup 2022: full coverage | a program | consequences | points table | Gallery

The 24-year-old Kotian and spin partner Shams Mulani (2/14) carried six wickets between them as the Bengals were flipped for a paltry 121 in 31.3 overs after Mumbai opted to play.

Skipper Anjinkya Rahane anchored the Mumbai chase with an unbeaten 59 off 72 balls (6×4, 2×6) to take the team home at 30.2.

Bengal speedster Mukesh Kumar (2/20) rejected Mumbai opener Prithiv Show (26) and Yashsvi Jaiswal (10) to only add 10 runs, but Rahan held their innings together in an unbroken partnership that racked up 75 matches with wicket-beating keeper Hardik Tamur (18 un). Outside).

Earlier, the Bengal hitters showed a complete lack of application and lost half of their side within 12 overs.

The veteran opener Writtick Chatterjee (1) continued his horror show with the bat and came out on his seventh consecutive single-score across the formats, after being cornered by Deshpande.

Gifted India Bengali captain Abhimanyu Iswaran (12) got off to a good start but continued his woeful run with the bats, while expert Anostop Majumdar also fell with a single-digit score with the Mumbai fast attack hitting the top three.

Veteran Manoj Tiwari grabbed a Bengal stronghold with a 47 out of 64 tackle (5×4, 1×6) but the wicket kept falling around him. Somehow he helped the team cross the 100 point mark with some helpful contributions from No. 11 Mukesh Kumar (10 not out).

Read also | T20 Globalism The trophy: Babar Azam’s men give a glimpse into Imran Khan’s “Besieged Tigers” on a rollercoaster campaign

Kotian, who had put in a good all-round display and took the win in Mumbai in his first SMAT victory, dried a run in the middle on the way to his four-point haul.

Left arm spinner Mullani ended Tiwary’s resistance and cleaned Jeet Puri on his next run to finish the innings of Bengal.

After the opening day match, Puducherry, who defeated Mizoram by seven wickets, finished the fifth on net running average, while Mumbai and Maharashtra took second and third places respectively.

Maharashtra defeated Rail by seven wickets with the opener Ruturaj Gaikwad and slammed 124 not out. He and Rahul Tripathi (75) formed a 165-round opening partnership while Maharashtra State chased the modest 219-ball goal with 70 balls to spare. Brief results: Rail 218/8 in 50 over (Shivam Chaudhary 46, Karn Sharma 40; Shamshuzama Kazi 2/26) lost to Maharashtra 219/3 in 38.2 over (Ruturaj Gaikwad 124 not out, Rahul Tripathi 75) by seven wickets.

Bengal 121 on 31.3 overs (Manoj Tiwari 47; Tanush Kotian 4/31, Shams Maulani 2/14, Tushar Deshpande 2/23) lost to Mumbai 123/2 on 30.2 overs (Ajinkya Rahane 59 not out; Mukesh Kumar 2/20) Eight shares.

Mizoram 156/8 in 50 overs (Shreevats Goswami 63, Vikash Kumar 41; Ankit Sharma 3/33) lost to Puducherry 158/3 in 29.4 overs (Arun Karthik 59 not out, Ramachandran Ragupathy 47) by seven wickets.

Get the latest cricket newsAnd the a program And the Live cricket scores over here


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *