Rain washes off a chain opener in Wellington without a ball being thrown



T20I series opener between New Zealand and India On the Sky Ground, Wellington were washed out by incessant rain on Friday, without a ball being bowled and not even the toss being carried.

According to the Wellington weather forecast, 90-100 per cent of rain was forecast during match time, which kept the covers on the field throughout. Although the rain stopped for a few minutes, it came back again, heavier than it was, prompting the players to indulge in a session of foot volleyball indoors.

The last deadline for the start of the match was 9:46 pm local time, with a minimum of five overs per side needed to constitute an official T20I match. But torrential rain washed away that possibility as well, forcing Friday’s game to be cancelled.

Read also | IND vs NZ 2022 HIGHLIGHTS First T20: The match was abandoned without a toss due to rain

India and New Zealand will now move towards the second match of the series, which is scheduled to be played at a sold-out Bay Oval at Mount Maunganui on Sunday. Next, the third and final match of the series will be played at McLean Park in Napier on Tuesday, followed by a three-match ODI series.

India and New Zealand, the losing men’s T20 semi-finalists, were each Globalism World Cup in Australia, on their way to rebuild for the 2024 T20 World Cup as well as fine-tune their preparations for the 2023 ODI World Cup with their White Ball Tour which will run from November 18-30.

With reserve coach VVS Laxman insisting that the team led by Hardik Pandya, without many regular stars, will look to play gritty and resilient cricket throughout the series. While regular captain Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli And KL Rahul is missing from the tour along with Dinesh Karthik, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel and Mohammed Shami in the T20Is, New Zealand also without Trent Boult and Martin Guptill in the series.

the difference

India: Hardik Pandya (captain), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (vice-captain and wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldip Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Pachel, Mohammad Siraj and Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Imran Malik.

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (Captain), Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Jamie Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Michael Bracewell, Esh Soddy, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Lucky Ferguson, Blair Tickner.

Get the latest Cricket newsAnd the a program And the live cricket results over here


Source link