The IOA announces a gender-balanced Electoral College; PV Sindhu and Sakshi Malik are among the 77 voters in the poll



A host of current and former athletes, including Olympic medalists PV Sindhu, Gagan Narang and Sakshi Malik, will be among the 77 voters in the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) election on December 10.

Olympic medalists Yogeshwar Dutt and M. M. toxicity in opinion polls.

Of the 77 members, 39 are female and 38 are male.

FIFA Globalism 2022 Cup – full coverage | Points table | a program | consequences | Golden Shoe

While Yogeshwar and Soumaya were selected by the new Athletes Committee on Saturday as part of the eight Olympians of Distinguished Merit (SOM), Sakshi was nominated by the WWF. India (WFI). Sindhu and Narang are nominated by the athletes’ committee.

In the 77-member Electoral College notified by returning officer Umesh Sinha on Monday, there were 66 members from 33 Nationals. sports The federations that nominated one man and one woman each, eight SOMs (four males and four females), two Athletes Committee (one male and one female) and IOC India member, Nita Ambani.

The controversy-ridden IOA has achieved a milestone as more female members will vote for its elections, which will be held under the new constitution prepared by former High Court judge L Nageswara Rao appointed by the SC. The IOA adopted the new constitution on November 10 after obtaining approval from the IOC.

In another development, nearly 25 percent of the 77-member Electoral College are either current or former players.

Under the new constitution, the IOA’s general assembly must have an equal number of male and female voting members.

Besides the two members of the Athletes Committee and eight members of the Elections Committee, some other National Powers teams have nominated former Electoral College athletes. The bobsleigh federation of India is represented by six-time Winter Olympian Shiva Keshavan, and Jahnavi Rawat, who is also an athlete.

Keshavan is also a member of the IOA Athletes Committee. The 10-member Athletes Committee was elected on November 14.

“I don’t see any problem here (being a member of the IOA AC and a member of the Electoral College). As far as I understand, there is no conflict of interest on my part. It’s not that I’m running for office, I just have the right to vote,” Keshvan told PTI.

“Also, it is not that I get a double vote. If there had been a problem (conflict of interest), the returning officer would have rejected my name from the Electoral College.” The All India Football Federation (AIFF) sent its president, ex-goalkeeper Kalyan Chaubey and women’s national team player previously. Tababi Devi as members of the Electoral College.

Actor and former rugby player – as well as the president of the national federation – Rahul Bose is one of two nominees from the National Sports Federation, while Olympic sprinter and athletics federation of India (AFI) president Adil Sumariwala represents his organisation.

Outgoing General Secretary Rajiv Mehta represents the Fencing Association of India.

More than 15 Salvation Fronts sent their president as one of the voters.

Chief Minister of Assam Hemanta Biswa Sarma (badminton), Arjun Munda (archery), Ajay Singh (boxing), Brij Bhushan Charan (wrestling), Sahdev Yadav (weightlifting), Bhupinder Singh Bajwa (wushu), Anil Jain (tennis), Rajlaxmi Singh Deo (rowing), Vagish Pathak (netball), Prashant Kushwaha (kayaking and canoeing), Sudhir Mital (gymnastics), Parminder Singh Dhindsa (cycling), Ravi Bengani (bowling) and K Govindaraj (basketball) are among Presidents of NSFs in the Electoral College.

In the case of the national table tennis, kabaddi and judo federations, nominations made by court-appointed officials were accepted. Nominations for billiards, snooker and yachting were not accepted because they were associate members of the IOA without the right to vote.

Of the two factions of the Handball Association, the nomination sent by the government-recognized candidate—and its president, Digvijay Chautala—was accepted. In the case of taekwondo, nominations from both factions were rejected.

The other six are PT Usha (athletics), Soma Sherur (archery), Rohit Rajpal (tennis), Aparna Popat (badminton), Akhil Kumar (boxing) and Dula Banerjee (archery).

Under the new constitution, the Electoral College is made up of only members of NSFs whose sports are included in the program of the Olympic Games, Asian Games or Commonwealth Games.

IOA polls will be conducted to elect one President, a Senior Vice President, two Vice Presidents (one man and one woman), one Treasurer, two Joint Secretaries (one man and one woman), and six other members of the Executive Council, out of which two (one male and one female) shall be elected SOMs.

Also read | Can Argentina write a finale befitting the astronomical career of Lionel Messi-La Pulga?

Two members of the Executive Board (one man and one woman) will be representatives of the Athletes Committee.

Candidates for various positions can submit their nominations in person from November 25 to 27. The final list of candidates will be presented on December 4. The results will be announced on the same day as the election – December 10th.

In previous elections to the IOA, each NSF would nominate three representatives, with one vote each. State Olympic bodies were stripped of their voting rights under the new constitution.

Read all files The latest sports news over here


Source link