Tamil Nadu beat Arunachal Pradesh by 435 runs to set the world record



The clash between Tamil Nadu and Arunachal Pradesh in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 on Monday saw a slew of world records broken and history rewritten. Pater Narayan Jagadeesan hit 277 off 141 while his opening partners Sai Sudarshan scored 154 off 102 as Tamil Nadu posted a record score of 506 for 2 off 50 overs. It is now the team’s highest total in men’s List A cricket, besting a previous best of 498 for four from England against the Netherlands earlier this year.

Read also: Who is N Jagadeesan: All you need to know about Tamil Nadu Batter Whos Globalism Record List A cricket

In reply, Arunachal Pradesh lost 71 runs in just 28.4 after winning by 435 runs for Tamil Nadu. Manimaran Siddharth returned figures of 5 for 12 in 7.4 overs, while Silambarasan (2/7) and Mohamed (2/3) picked up 2 wickets each.

This Tamil Nadu victory is now the biggest in List A cricket. They bested the 32-year-old record set by Somerset in 1990 when they defeated Devon by 346 runs. Meanwhile, Jagadeesan surpassed Alistair Brown’s record 268 for Surrey against Glamorgan in 2002. India’s record for the highest List A score of 264 by Rohit Sharma in an ODI against Sri Lanka was also obliterated in the process.

Records rained down as Jagadesan went on a rampage against the hapless Arunachal bowling attack. His 16 games made him the highest by batting in an innings in the Vijay Hazare Trophy, improving on the 12 from Yashasvi Jaiswal during his strikeout of 203 in the 2019-20 season. He hit a double ton in 114 balls, the fastest ever double ton in List A history. Travis Head had taken 114 balls to score two centuries for South Australia against Queensland in the Australian Marsh Cup last year.

Also read: N Jagadeesan blasted 277 to break the record for highest individual List A score.

The wicket-keeper from Tamil Nadu became the sixth two-ton batsman in India’s premier one-day competition. His opening partnership of 416 with B Sai Sudharsan, who made 154 (102 balls, 19 fours, 2 sixes), is also a record for the highest partnership for any wicket in List A cricket.

The previous highest partnership in Indian domestic cricket was 372 between Chris Gayle and Marlon Samuels for the West Indies’ second wicket against Zimbabwe in an ODI in 2015. The previous highest partnership in Indian domestic cricket was 338 by Sanju Samson and Sachin Baby for Kerala against Goa in 2019.

(with PTI input)

Get the latest Cricket newsAnd the a program And the live cricket results over here


Source link